This post is available in: English, there may also be a subsite in your language, see "Subsites" in the top menu.

Wikipaedia tells me there are 11 official languages in South Africa: Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu. I (CE) am keen to get good translations made into all eleven and we have started with a good translation (I believe) into Xhosa and of course we have English.  Work on Afrikaans stalled through my work overload, however as with a number of projects, I hope to clear enough backlog to restart some translations some time in 2022 so if you would be interested in co-leading a translation do contact me. A translation is not a simple process (see translations) so do read the information in that page and digest our protocol and if you are interested in co-leading a translation with me, or think you might have a student for whom it might make an excellent project, do contact me (CE). An independent forward translation by a native speaker with sufficient fluency in English to do a translation is always a good start pending a full translation process starting so if can contribute one, or if you have a need for one of the missing languages, again just contact me.

Created 28/3/15, recreated 5/6/21 after original was eaten by a WordPress plugin (!). Author CE, licence: Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0).

Scroll to Top